C is for Cookies.

At my 1st birthday party I acquired a taste for pesto, shrimp cocktail, and pasta with red pepper sauce. I would not even touch the cake. In fact, I’ve never really liked soda or chocolate either. I know! Oh my gosh, I’m a woman who doesn’t care for chocolate! It was not until this year, the ripe age of 23, that my sweet tooth properly formed. Now I can’t seem to get enough…COOKIES.  Holy hell, cookies are freaking amazing.

img_3711Anywho. Two nights ago, after yoga, I was walking down 1st Avenue in the pouring rain when it dawned on me that a) it was 4/20, b) Veniero’s bakery was around the corner and c) Veniero’s bakery was around the corner. So I did anything that a rain-soaked, cookie-loving, about to be weed-smoking person like myself would have done: Buy some cookies. My favorite at Veniero’s are $6 /pound, which can become a bit dangerous. Cookies should never be sold by the pound, but alas! I purchased the Lemon Drops, which are a collision between biscuits and butter cookies, which are then dipped in a fresh lemony glaze.

Veniero’s  is located on 11th Street, right around the corner from 1st Avenue. They sell a plethora of desserts such as cheesecake, strawberry shortcake, biscotti, and canolli. If you can add 2 plus 2, you know this bakery is Italian; and if you know me, you know that my one regret in life is that I was not born Italian.

These Lemon Drop cookies go fabulously with peppermint tea (a natural appetite suppressant, so maybe you’ll ‘eat just one’), or my favorite sleep-inducing drink: warm frothy milk with cinnamon and a pinch of brown sugar….mmmm, happy eating!!!

img_3716

1 Comment

Filed under food, Veniero

One response to “C is for Cookies.

  1. zsuzsa cook

    you forgot to mention that cup of warm milk with nutmeg…sooo good : )

Leave a comment